My Caps Superstition

11 05 2009

Maybe I’m a little superstitious when it comes to my viewing habits for watching Caps games. I know that whenever I wear my pair of red kitten heels while at a game, the Caps win. If I wear these shoes to watch a game, but not actually at the game in the stadium, the Caps are more likely to lose. (Thus, the lucky shoes only work when I am physically at a game.) The day my lucky shoes broke, the Caps lost. Coincidence? I think not. I immediately went to the shoe repair shop to get them fixed.

Another thing I’ve discovered is that if I am watching a game but not at the stadium, the less I dress in red, the more likely the Caps are to win. (That kind of stinks because I can’t really show my support, but I don’t want the Caps to lose, either!)

But the main thing I’ve found is that I have to watch the Caps games in order for the Caps to win (or have a better chance at winning). Every time I miss watching a game, the Caps lose.  For example, I was unable to watch the last Caps game (playoffs against the Penguins, Game #5) and they lost. I blame myself.

Also, every time I have attended a Caps game this season, the Caps have won. I think that it would be in the team’s best interest to hire me as a Caps game watcher in order for their team to continue to win games (at least at home). I should not have to pay for tickets, when I am the one making/helping the team win. Ted Leonsis should recognize a good thing (like my superstitious luck) and reward me for my right-doings.





Eric Hutchinson Concert!

11 05 2009

Last Wednesday, May 6th, I went to see Eric Hutchinson in concert. This was not only an amazing concert, but it was my very first time going to the 9:30 Club in my 24 years of living in Washington, D.C. (I know, I know, how can that be true? It is. Apparently I have been missing out.)

So Eric Hutchinson was amazing. My companion did not think so. And actually last night another friend exclaimed how he didn’t see the big deal in his fellow high school alum (which by the way is pretty awesome).

SDC14391

SDC14393

I got into a bit of an argument at the concert with my friend about why I love Eric Hutchinson so much. I love his music because it’s fun and catchy. It’s pop-y, without being saturated in that genre, because of the music’s Stevie Wonder sound and possible influences. I like the reggae- like beat in some of songs like “Rock & Roll.” Or the Samba type beat in “Outside Villanova.”

I support Eric Hutchinson because he’s close to my age and from my area. So I can kind of relate to him. He also seems very down to earth and very “real,” despite his growing celebrity-like status. Plus, I always like musicians who sing songs with more than just lovey dovey lyrics. He’s youthful, funny, and fun, without being too hip-cool.

True, a lot of his songs may sound the same, or even like a lot of already existing songs, but one thing that puts him apart from many musicians is that yeah, he gets it. He knows his schtick. He knows his songs sound the same. He even acknowledges it. Does that make him less “legit?” I don’t think so. I think it makes him more “relate-able.” Easier to like. It’s like you’re listening to his music and think to your self, “hey, didn’t I just hear this song in the last track?” And he answers you, maybe saying something like, “well yeah, the songs do sound the same actually. But then again, A lot of Justin Timberlake’s songs sound the same, and you don’t hear anyone complaining about that.” And then Eric Hutchinson goes into his medley of Justin’s songs that all sound the same. If you haven’t heard it yet, it’s pretty amazing.

Anyways, like I was saying, the concert was amazing. He played all of the songs from his one album. He even played a couple new songs. One was called, “Sad Songs” and the other was about how he is a local of the area and has been to many concerts at the 9:30 Club in his youth. Pretty amazing and pretty catchy.

SDC14400

SDC14402