Transformers 3 Production Photos

14 10 2010

As I wrote in yesterday’s post, the movie, Transformers 3 has set up shop in Washington, D.C. for the week to film a number of scenes in our nation’s capital. It’s pretty exciting when any film crew comes to D.C., such as reality shows like MTV’s, The Real World or Bravo’s, Top Chef and The Real Housewives. Recent movies to take place in D.C. have included, Salt, How Do You Know, Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian, and my favorite, Wedding Crashers. (Woah. Owen Wilson has been in three movies that have taken place in D.C. in the past few years. That’s pretty cool. I think he should move here! Check it out.)

Anyways, as promised, below are the pictures I have taken thus far of the filming. We start with Tuesday evening’s photos. Tuesday was when I actually stuck around for two and a half hours and thus got the more “exciting photos.” Here goes:

 

The side of a truck.

 

 

On a ground covering for cords.

 

 

Seen at the food tent for cast/crew?

 

 

Some pretty intense looking army vehicles parked by the Native American museum.

 

 

Giant lights illuminating the area by The East Wing of The National Gallery of Art.

 

 

ULTRA BOOM

 

 

Massive sound boom at Pennsylvania Ave. and 3rd St. NW

 

 

Cop cars and other cars driving/parked in the middle of Constitution and 3rd.

 

 

Public Assistance crew member

 

Yesterday, Wednesday was a Caps game night, so I couldn’t hang around for very long. But I did take a walk around 3rd St. NW and SW and its surrounding areas and snapped these photos:

 

This was on the side of an important looking trunk which a crew member told me not to touch.

 

 

Trucks lining 3rd St. in front of the Capitol.

 

 

Large light near the corner of 3rd and Constitution NW.

 

 

Not entirely sure what these were for, but seen on Constitution Ave. and 6th next to the National Gallery of Art.

 

 

Trucks on Constitution and 6th NW next to the National Gallery of Art

 

As you can see, all of my pictures are of the tech and crew-side of the filming. (Sorry, no actors here!) While the simple reason for this is that I just didn’t see any actors, another reason for so many tech-based pictures is also that I find that aspect of filming interesting. I have a few friends who have worked on movies (both professionally and not) and I was on the tech crew for school productions from middle school through college. So, this side of the entertainment industry is intriguing to me. Anyways, I hope you enjoyed my photos. With the rain today and my leaving the area early tomorrow, these might be the only/best photos I take.