The First Snow

5 12 2009

P. 97  12/5/09

I know it’s just extra-cold and more solid rain, but I absolutely LOVE snow! I love the look of it falling, I love the white blanket it creates over everything, I enjoy sledding on it, and really, I just have only good memories associated with snow. Good memories such as sledding on monstrous hills or closed down hilly streets, mugs of hot chocolate with marshmallows, snowball fights, snow angels, building an igloo and snowmen, and best of all, school and work closings! Snow makes me feel like an easy-to-please little kid. My love of snow is one of the reasons I am fascinated with Canada and want to live there one day. Snow also goes with ice, which brings ice hockey, my favorite sport.

So our first day of snow for the year is today, December 5th. At work, my co-workers and I were talking about how last year the first snowfall was on December 6th. Apparently according to some weather forecasters, the first day of snow has been the same day ever year, for the past few years. Maybe it was give or take a day, because today we’re one day early if we stick with that pattern. But hey, I’m not going to complain if we get snow earlier than usual!

So again, how much do I love snow? The snow has been steadily falling in rather big flake-clumps all morning. And yet, I still find myself having to keep checking my window to make sure the snow is still falling; to remind myself that this really isn’t a dream and that the snow really is sticking (although not on the streets……yet).