The “Non-Love Song” Song of the Day: Holiday Edition

22 12 2011

It’s another much needed edition of the “Non-Love Song” Song of the Day. I don’t know about you folk, but I like to think of this as a sort of “therapy” for my life. What do you have to turn to when your friends are all getting married/pregnant/dating/etc? Why, you turn to CAPSLove of course, for your next helping of songs that have nothing to do with all of that. Because let’s face it, some of the best music has nothing to do with love, and that’s how I like it.

One of the only good things about the various winter holiday music is that it rarely has anything to do with love. Maybe it’s a wholesome kind of “everyone should love one another” love, but I don’t necessarily include that in the love songs genre. A song about a reindeer with a red nose has nothing to do with love. As song about a spinning top that is made out of clay also has nothing to do with love. So as much as I may not prefer to hear the never-ending melodies this time of year that help to celebrate the winter-time holidays, it could be worse. They could be love songs.

So here are some of the best versions of Non-Love Songs that relate to the holidays. First up is “Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer” by none other than one of my favorite groups, The Temptations. I love this version: it’s got soul, it’s got funk, and it’s something you can dance to, rather than hear some squeaky kids sing. This cover should be substituted for every other version you will hear on the radio. It’s great.

Rudolph the Red Nosed Pudge.

Next up is probably the greatest version of “I Have A Little Dreidel” that has ever been done. This song is done to the tune of, “You’ve Really Got A Hold On Me,” and because I know you just won’t believe it, you should definitely give it a listen. I love that these are two completely different songs, but that someone figured out how to get them to work together. This song too, has soul and it’s unique and I’m pretty sure that from now on, this is the tune to which I will sing the well-known song.

Wow, this is bad.

So next time you decide to listen to your favorite non-denominational holiday music, I advise you to choose wisely and pick a song that has nothing to do with love. Sure, it might not be difficult, but those love songs can hide well amongst the holiday cheer. No thanks, lovey dovey songs, I’m fine rocking out to the rest of the mix!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

