This Is Not A Love Song

14 11 2011

I’m going to start a new project today. I feel like this blog could and should be a great outpost for my recent feelings about dating/love/relationships in general and how I don’t have the best luck in that field (at least in the recent comparison to approximately 95% of my friends these days). But I’m not going to use this blog for a rant. I’ve definitely thought about that, believe me, but I have decided on a superior method which is a reaction to my feelings.

Enter, The “Non-Love Song” Song of the Day Blog Post.

I was recently discussing songs that have nothing to do with love, with a friend of mine who (appropriately?) went through an odd break-up of sorts. She was seeking some music to listen to which did not remind her of her unfortunate predicament. Not a song about or love, nor a song about break-ups; a song that has nothing to do with love.

I explained to my friend that one of the reasons I love The Beatles so much is because I would estimate that maybe 50% of their songs have nothing to do with love. For example, take the songs, Being For The Benefit of Mr. Kite (about a circus), Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds (inspired by drugs or who knows what), Maxwell’s Silver Hammer (about a boy who pummels others with a hammer) and Octopus’ Garden (fantasizing about living under water). As a contrast, my parents actually do own an album of The Beatles’ love songs. I think it would be fantastic to compile all their songs that are not about love.

I could surely go on about The Beatles all day, but today’s post features a song by another group that is what I consider the ultimate in songs that are not about love. This is Nouvelle Vague’s, “This Is Not A Love Song,” which thankfully stays true to the title.

I’m not sure I’m going to post a non-love song every day, but definitely be on the lookout in the future for more music posts of this nature. I think I could definitely get the hang of this non-anti-love music postings. Enjoy!

Actions

Information

One response

23 01 2012
The “Non-Love Song” Song Of The Day | C.A.P.S.Love Two: The Girl On The JumboTron

[…] eyeing for a while. So in today’s edition of my “Non-Love Song” Song of the Day series, I will be selecting songs from the artists I recently purchased: Mayer Hawthorn, Bruno Mars, and […]

Leave a Reply

