A Decade Later

9 09 2011

As I was searching for something to write about today, I scanned my blog for what I have written about around this date in the past couple of years. As it turns out, last year I posted some adorable videos and the year before I appropriately wrote about 9-11. I was sort of hoping to avoid writing something repetitive about that terrible day, but it sort of seems like with this being the ten year anniversary, many people are seeking out others’ recollections and memories of that day.

The other day my parents asked me what I remember from September 11, 2001. I recounted this emotional story to them about that evening. But that was in the evening. The day panned out differently.

It was my sophomore year of high school and I think I was in Math class, when an announcement came on throughout the building that a plane had just struck one of the Twin Towers. My teacher along with what I assume to be the rest of the staff in the building, turned on the television to follow the events unfolding before our eyes. The class immediately stopped and all we could do was stare at the news. I may have been in transition to my next class at the time that the second plane struck the second tower. That part is hazy, though I do very vividly remember sitting in chorus class and hearing news about the more local Pentagon plane crash.

Living within the beltway your whole life is really something unique. Because of my high school’s close proximity to Washington, D.C., many of my peers’ parents worked in the city. I remember one girl was frantic, trying to get in touch with her parent who actually worked at The Pentagon. Normally, cell phones were not allowed in school, but this was an exception. Of course, since so many people were trying to get in touch with their loved ones, cell phone lines were all tangled up and service was halted. This just created even more of a stressful environment. The rest of the school day (which was cut short) was used by just going to classes and watching TV and having basically a group therapy/discussion session. Of course, when I got home, it was relieving to know my family was unharmed- at least physically.

– – – – – – – – – –

It’s interesting to think about how the September 11th attacks have changed our country world. Today I was thinking about what the world would be like had 9/11 never happened. Would we be more vulnerable? Would we be naive?  Sure, lives would have been saved from the terrorist attacks, but would that leave our country more open for future attacks? Obviously this Catch-22 is not a great situation either way. So instead, I will leave you this……

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

