What At First Sight?

31 08 2011

I’m not sure I buy into the notion of love at first sight. In addition to attributing this to the fact that I have never experienced it, I also am just very doubtful that I believe in this fantasy idea of a no-doubt, sure-fire way to fall in love. Cupid must really be acing his job if by simply looking at someone will force you into love. Sure, it sounds like a great thing, but it doesn’t seem realistic.

This utopian belief seems best suited to stay within Shakespeare’s play, A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Take the following excerpt:

What thou seest when thou dost wake,
Do it for thy true-love take,
Love and languish for his sake:
Be it ounce, or cat, or bear,
Pard, or boar with bristled hair,
In thy eye that shall appear
When thou wakest, it is thy dear:
Wake when some vile thing is near.

Here, the character of King Oberon is telling Puck, his assistant to use a special serum to anoint some lovers’ eyes while sleeping. When these people will awake, they will fall in love with what they first set their sights upon. This surreal plan seems perfect for a Shakespearean comedy, not as much for real life.

Don’t get me wrong though: I’m not completely pessimistic on this matter. I have experienced strong (positive) emotions upon first meeting certain guys. I’ve felt intrigue, respect, camaraderie,  and admiration at first sight, however none of those seem to be the same as when people describe the unique feeling of “love at first sight.” And sure, I admit to being completely engrossed in someone’s beautiful physical qualities, but somehow I don’t think that’s quite the same as what this being in love thing is. The jury still stands on this one.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

