Sizzling Sounds

21 07 2011

As you can tell from my last few posts, I’ve been paying attention to song lyrics lately. To continue with this interest, today I’m featuring song lyrics that are especially relevant to this disgustingly, sticky, hot heat wave our area country is experiencing. Today I bring you my playlist to beat this crazy heat.

If you’re a long-time reader of CAPSLove, you know I am frequently impressed by the music that Animal Collective churns out. In addition to the addictive music, the lyrics from their song, Summertime Clothes, are pretty much too perfect for this week, especially today and tomorrow. These lyrics do a great job of really illustrating what a steamy summer feels like. I applaud their detailed description:

Sweet summer night and I’m stripped to my sheets
Forehead is leaking, my AC squeaks and
A voice from the clock says, “You’re not gonna get tired”
My bed is a pool and the walls are on fire
Soak my head in the sink for a while
Chills on my neck and it makes me smile but
My bones have to move and my skin’s gotta breathe
You pick up the phone and I’m so relieved
You slide down your stairs to the heated street
And the sun has left us with slippery feet

Of course, it wouldn’t be a Heat Wave soundtrack without the too-obvious song, “Heat Wave” by Martha and the Vandellas. For today however, I’m taking it one step further with The Who’s rendition, because The Who are some pretty hot guys, too! The song’s lyrics are actually pretty painful when you read them. That’s a really strong heat!

Something inside starts burning
And my heart’s filled with fire

Something’s got me amazed
Don’t know what to do
My head’s in a haze

It’s like a heatwave burning in my heart
I can’t keep from crying
Tearing me apart

Did someone say Heat Wave? This next song is debatably better than the last, though it has the same song name. This song has weather predictions and technical terms and it still comes off as being sexy. I can guarantee that these are not your average lyrics. This is, “Heat Wave” from the musical, “There’s No Business Like Show Business” starring Marilyn Monroe, and boy does she get things steamy.

Gee, gee! Her anatomy!
Makes the mercury!
To 93!

Having a heatwave, a tropical heatwave, the way that she moves,
That thermometer proves that she certainly can…

Pablo, it say here in the weather report,
It’s saying a fairly warm air is moving in from..(Where?) Jamaica.
Moderately high air pressure will cover the North East and.. (where else?)
The Deep South. Small danger of (what?) Fruit frost!
Hot and humid nights can be expected.
Vincent 95, Guadeloupe 97, Santo Domingo 99. Pardon me? 105?

And check out The Muppets’ version too:

There are probably plenty more songs that have to do with being hot. Just search for songs with the key words, “hot,” “heat,” or “summer” to start. But I think these three songs have the best lyrics when dealing with truly unbearably high temperatures. Also, the issue with finding songs about feeling hot, is that more songs seem to be about being hot, relating to love, instead of purely the weather. Nevertheless, songs about the heat do seem to be a “hot commodity!”

Actions

Information

One response

27 08 2011
Bob Dylan’s Hurricane Playlist « C.A.P.S.Love.

[…] blogged about weather playlists in the past such as ones for rain and the heat but today is a unique kind of playlist. It started out as a hurricane playlist, but then I […]

Leave a Reply

