Vegetarian Temptations Conquered!

7 07 2011

Yesterday’s post about the end to me vegetarianism was all about the information I have gathered during my last six months and how I figured I’d tackle the next (at least) six months of my now non-vegetarian life. Today’s post however, is more of reflective of my vegetarian experiences. Although it may have only been a handful of months, I experienced enough challenges to make it seem like a longer amount of time.

There were plenty of temptations to try to steer me off track. A mere three months in, came my birthday. That was the first time I really considered quitting the vegetarian thing. I really considered easting wings to celebrate my birthday. But for one reason or another that didn’t happen. Next was Passover, when my family always makes the traditional brisket recipe. How could I not partake in that? My parents were concerned that I just wasn’t the same without meat, but I reassured them it wasn’t such an ordeal. The next challenge, and maybe the toughest came when I volunteered for the DC101 Chili Cook-Off. A Festival devoted to a meaty dish and I was in the middle of it all. Thankfully one place, Hard Times Cafe, served up a vegetarian version so I could still consume the dish of the day. Walking among the tents and tents of competing vendors however, was a pretty sad and tempting sight. All the free chili samples I could want, yet couldn’t eat! Lastly was a formal event: a wedding of two friends. This was the last temptation I would endure as a vegetarian. Thankfully however, the reception’s dinner included plenty of substitution courses, so I didn’t have to feel so left out.

I didn’t beg for meat! It’s an appropriate song!

I survived all the temptations and didn’t break the six months for meat once. I also learned that tofu is not as disgusting as I had thought it was. I ate tofu hot dogs and tofu buffalo wings, something I would never touch otherwise. I also ate tofu in other dishes, and didn’t completely hate it. It’s not like I”m going to go out of my way for tofu now, but at least I know now that it’s not a purely putrid ingredient.

All in all, being a vegetarian turned out to not be the end of the world. It really wasn’t as difficult as I had thought it would be. Now when I learn that someone is a vegetarian, I can relate to their dietary restrictions. I used to be wary of those vegetarians, but now I will accept them with open arms. Vegetarians are people too, even if they think tofu is a legitimate food!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

