Germans Gotta Go Home With Barbara Streisand

2 05 2011

Today I was very pleased to learn the origin of one of my recent favorite songs. I suppose I might not be the most knowledgeable about contemporary music. But, as I have learned from Girl Talk and Kanye West for examples, is that a lot of music these days, is taken from already existing music. This is either found as a guitar riff or an underlying theme throughout the music, or a direct sample of a past tune. Some of these samplings are more successful than others. This is an example of one of my favorite examples of using a past song in a new piece of music.

The subject of today’s newest discovery all started with my fascination with the song, “Barbara Streisand” by Duck Sauce. I must have heard it at a bar or club or some place, but I was struck by the song’s addicting and catchy melody. The song also had a cool, hip beat. I also enjoyed the video, featuring cameos of many well-known musicians.

So, today my co-worker sent me this link. I read through the article and watched all of the awe-inspiring videos. Very interesting stuff, indeed. And then I came to the video for the song, “Gotta Go Home” by Boney M. Like many of you, I had never heard of any of those songs or groups, but upon listening to this song, I immediately recognized it as the music in, “Barbara Streisand.”

Weird! But I guess I shouldn’t be all that surprised, since many hip hop artists sample older music. Even Wikipedia knew of this sample: “In the summer of 2010, Duck Sauce released a track called “Barbra Streisand”, named after the singer of the same name. The track heavily samples the 1979 song “Gotta Go Home” by Boney M, which itself is based upon the original tune “Hallo Bimmelbahn” by the German band Nighttrain.” Of course, when I read that this, I had to listen to the original original song. How many times could this song really be covered, sampled, and recorded?

After listening to all three versions of  this song and learning a little bit of the history of recent music, I can feel a little more knowledgeable about music history. Really, I’m shouldn’t be surprised that a Hip Hop group sampled an older piece. Because actually, many Hip Hop musicians use bits and pieces of a number of songs. I thought that they [Duck Sauce] were creating an original, and catchy melody, but in fact the joke was on me. But I don’t think any less of Duck Sauce because they took an existing song and added a hint of a funky beat and changed the song up. This is music, and as long as there isn’t a lawsuit or copyright arguments, I think it can be really interesting when one song becomes a different song, even if it is changed ever so slightly.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

