Retail Therapy

13 01 2011

It’s that time of the season. It’s cold out, many people are staying home, some are affected with Seasonal Affective Disorder (or SAD which is a fabulously appropriate acronym), and the mood is generally turning icy. The Capitals’ latest losing streak isn’t helping either. So what can people do to cheer up? Well, if these people were me, they’d go shopping!

Yeah, I know, sometimes I can be such a girl. But I’ve found that retail therapy really can work wonders. It was just two days ago that I bought myself a new winter coat. I had my last one for a few years and what, with the pockets coming apart and a button being held in place with a twist tie, I felt it appropriate to get myself a new coat. Sadly, I could not find a picture of it online, but it is a combination of these two:

This color/pattern fabric.

This cut and style.

It’s a pretty smart coat and I kind of love it. Who knew a coat could put you in such a good mood? After I bought this coat, I began reflecting on how much my wardrobe has been recently under construction. In the past month or so, I have already gotten four new sweaters, helping me to modify and update my collection of sweaters. At the start of the fall season, I also purchased a pretty fab pair of knee-high boots that have garnered me plenty of compliments:

Thanks, DSW!

But wait, there’s more! I started gaining confidence with shopping online and purchased a rather awesome t-shirt or two, as well as a new sweatshirt from the ultra-hip website, threadless.com. But I haven’t limited my purchases to just clothing. As a gift, I got a set of bed sheets which I had been needing to replace the worn out, mixed up sheets I had.

So it’s been a swell year for me, for changing my wardrobe. Stacy and Clinton would be so proud of me! I suggest that for all of you out there who not only need a new outlook on life, but a new wardrobe, save up your money like me, and go out shopping! It’s good exercise, a good way to get your mind off your sorrows, plus, you’re supporting our ever-needy economy.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

