Being A Geek Never Changes

16 11 2010

My only solace today has been coming from me watching, “Freaks and Geeks” on YouTube. While I am not generally a fan of owning TV shows on DVD, I think I’m gonna ask for that show as a gift or buy it myself. I’m not sure if I even really watched the show about different cliques of high school outcasts when I was younger, when it was on TV. However, I do remember watching an episode or two and really liking it.

As I’m watching part of the first episode, I’m realizing that wait a second, this looks so familiar. About halfway through the episode, a gym class of wimpy geeks vs. intimidating jocks partake in a rousing game of Dodge Ball. If I’m not mistaken, an extremely similar scene was was just in the  film-version of the children’s book series, “Diary of a Wimpy Kid.” Let’s compare. Check out the beginning of this clip (till about 2:50) :

Now compare that with the short clip on this site. Go to “videos” and watch the third video. (Granted, I understand this is merely a teaser clip, and the actual bit of the movie really shows the similarities. If you haven’t seen the movie, then just trust me on this. Or, go out and rent the movie. It’s great.)

Either way, I find it interesting, yet not surprising that I find myself drawn to this “genre” if you will, of entertainment. Sure, I will admit it. I admit to being able to relate with one or more of those characters. But more than not being surprised that I like these shows/movies, I really am just glad that characters like these have come into pop culture. While I don’t really like to like Ellen Page (only because she has been totally type cast lately), the characters she’s been playing are so similar to the girl in, “Freaks and Geeks.” And while I’m on that character in general, let’s take a look at how these three girl outcasts are so similar:

 

From, “Juno”

 

From, “Freaks and Geeks”

From, “Daria”

Oversized green jackets have never been so “chic!” So as you can see, all three of these well-known female outcasts seem to have so much in common. It makes me realize that all of the outcasts in popular culture media have some underlying similarities. So basically, no matter what the year, a wimp, a freak, a geek, an outcast, a what have you, will share common traits with others in that stereotype. Does this mean they are destined to be like this forever? No, but it’s also not necessarily something to be ashamed of. Heck, if you fit into an outcast stereotype, at least it’s cool that such outcasts are even portrayed in mass media, in a not-necessarily bad way!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

