Beach Withdrawal

11 11 2010

Over the past week I have had two dreams of being at the beach. Over the past summer I realized how much I truly enjoyed being at the beach. I sacrificed partying in DC and hanging out with friends and cool events -all in DC- to be at the beach. And I didn’t regret my decisions, because I really love being at the Delaware beaches.

So the first dream I had was a few days ago. I dreamt that I went to the beach now (like, in November) so I was expecting the normal Fall weather of being cold and windy. I was dressed in many layers but when I got to the beach, it was hot, summery weather! It was so nice and there were people lining the beaches in swimsuits soaking up the rays. I was annoyed that I hadn’t packed any shorts, but I did have a swimsuit with me. It was just another beautiful day at the beach.

Last night I had another dream of the beach. I dreamt about today, which made the dream extremely realistic and a lot of the dream, I couldn’t tell if it was real or not. Anyways, I dreamt that I had nothing planned to do today on my off (which is kind of the truth). I just sat around doing nothing, and then in the evening, my mom called me telling me she was going to the beach (for some reason, I forget) and since she would be going alone, did I want to go with her. I was so upset that she hadn’t asked me earlier! I just wasted my whole day when had I known, I could have been spending it at the beach! I was torn. I did want to do something on my day off, but I have to work tomorrow, so what would be the sense of going to the beach for only a few hours only to have to drive right back? My mom informed me that we would spend the night and drive back in the early morning. Still, it was not necessarily a compromise that sounded very appealing. Needless to say, I was feeling so beach-deprived, that I ended up going with her to the beach. It was already night time when we arrived, but I went down to the sand and there was some sort of neighborhood party going on. When I got back to our beach house, all the furniture was moved to one side of the house in a jumbled way and I couldn’t get to anywhere easily. And my little brother (who’s now at his first year of college) was there which was nice. All in all, I was glad I got to be at the beach, even though it wasn’t for very long.

So basically, I miss the beach. That’s the important conclusion to draw here. So I need to figure out a mini-trip I can take to get back there! Maybe on a Friday-Saturday when the Caps aren’t playing, I can gather a few friends and we can take a short trip up there. I knew I was obsessed with the beach, but I didn’t think it would be this serious! It’s only been three months since I was last there, and I need to go back! Ok. Who’s with me here?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

