Day Tripping to Nashville

25 08 2010

I don’t feel like blogging today. I’m chalking it up to an apparent jinx that this blog post seemed to have created. (I knew it!) But never worry, this is not the end. I wouldn’t dare think it. No, I have just had a lot on my plate lately. I’m swamped at work, looking for a different job, and planning for an upcoming trip over Labor Day Weekend.

I’m going to Kentucky and Tennessee to see a friend who’s stationed in Kentucky in the Army. My friend, a nurse, is being deployed in a few weeks to go to Iraq. So I figured I had to see her before she goes off to the other side of the world for the next six months. When I arrive next Friday, I will be spending the day all by myself in Nashville. I’ve been trying to figure out how to bide my time, since I’ve never been there before. It is kind of intimidating to me.

Nashville is known for its country music. While I like some country music, I can’t claim to be an expert on the genre. So today I’ve been surfing YouTube for some classic country music and its culture. Here’s a rare gem I found:

And as much for me as it is for you, here’s some video I’ve found on some of Nashville’s music joints and the general downtown area:

I’m actually pretty excited to go to Nashville. I love Southern Rock, Old Timey Country, BBQ, line dancing, and the whole Cowboy culture. (I’ll have to make sure to wear my cowboy boots when I go.) Plus, Nashville even has a hockey team! What more could you ask for? Who knows, maybe I’ll never come back from my trip!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

