Grand Old Doodle Dandy

6 07 2010

Lately I’ve been discovering my fondness of Civil War era music and Americana marches. It may be a little honky, but there’s something about classic American tunes that I just really like. Call me a dork, but sometimes it’s just fun to be so gosh-darned patriotic.

In the days leading up to this year’s Independence Day, I found myself revisiting a few of my favorite songs. Specifically the songs, “You’re a Grand Old Flag” and “Yankee Doodle Dandy” have been stuck in my head. I love these songs. And to celebrate my love of these songs I am bringing you YouTube’s best selection:

It’s been stuck in my head!

This sounds like Gene Kelly singing and if so, that’s awesome because he’s great.

Ok, it’s a confederate song, but I still like the tune.

It’s actually originally an Irish drinking song. Go figure.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

