Side-Stepping Fame

25 06 2010

Yesterday I encountered another brush with a celebrity! How exciting, I know! This particular celebrity has made his name known to us through one of the many TV shows on Bravo. This celebrity is a chef who was on the last season of Top Chef. Honestly I guess it would come as no surprise that I saw him in Chinatown, since Chef Mike Isabella has his restaurant, Zaytinya in the neighborhood.

Anyways, I was walking up 7th Street in Chinatown. I had just walked out of my favorite hipster hot spot, Urban Outfitters, and was heading North to cross the new, crazy diagonal crosswalk. While I was walking, I heard a man talking on his cell phone to my left. It’s not like this is something strange to encounter in downtown D.C., but I guess my “Spidey Sense” was tingling so I turned my head to see who it was. A man was leaning against a newspaper vending machine right on the curb of 7th St. and was talking about meeting someone for dinner or something. I saw a man who looked familiar but I couldn’t place his face. It wasn’t until I spotted his tattooed arms, that I realized it was the guy on Top Chef that nobody liked!

I didn’t want to make a commotion, and since whenever I see a celeb for the first time I get nervous and start to doubt myself so I kept walking, but much slower. I was trying to find my camera in the black hole that is my purse. As I was slowly walking and fumbling about, I didn’t see Chef Isabella start for the door to the restaurant I was walking by. I sort of got in his way, as he kind of half-tripped over my not walking swiftly enough in the current of the Chinatown evening rush. I felt bad, but quickly side-stepped to focus on retrieving my camera. By the time I had turned around with my camera, Chef Isabella had disappeared through the doors of the restaurant, Zengo.

Unfortunately, while I didn’t get direct proof of seeing him, I know that it was definitely him. Maybe next time I walk around the city, I’ll have my purse cleaned out beforehand, or at least have my camera more readily available. You never know who you’ll spot in D.C!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

