A Salute to Gordo!

20 04 2010

Last night’s Caps game was incredible. A 5-1 win in the playoffs, ain’t too shabby, eh? The Caps could not have done it without one of my favorite Caps, Boyd Gordon who started off the scoring in the second period with a fabulous short-handed goal. He just stayed at the goal crease waiting for an opening to ram the puck in. Good job, Gordo! Honestly, I always knew you were a keeper.

I know many fans sometimes forget how valuable you are to the team, since you don’t get as much fame as many of the more popular players on the team. But to me, you are like the shy Beatle (aka: George Harrison, another favorite of mine); you are the Caps’ unsung hero. You are serious about your game and take pride in your position. and every now and then (like last night) you are rewarded for your actions. Remember the last game of the Caps’ regular season this year? Yup, I was there, hoping you would score a goal. And then you did. Into the shootout I joked to my friend that it would be awesome to see you go one-on-one with Tim Thomas. Well, Bruce apparently agreed and you were up to the challenge. While Thomas may have stopped your shot, it was a very noble try.

So, Gordo, today CAPSLove salutes you. I like what you bring to the game. I like what I see both on and off the ice. It also doesn’t hurt that you have consistently been one of the better looking players on the team. Keep up the good work, and I look forward to seeing more of you in the playoffs and in the future! Hip Hip Hooray for Boyd Gordon!

Actions

Information

5 responses

20 04 2010
Katie

you weren’t joking about Gordo in the shootout…you were dead serious.

21 04 2010
Katie

I love him. I think he’s very underrated…the only concern with him seems to be health…he missed quite a bit of time this year and last to that balky back. But a faceoff whiz and a great PKer. Love him!!

21 04 2010
DistrictofCanadiens

Well you beat us fair and square, and will probably do it again tonight with help from the Refs. Look enjoy beating up a depleted 8th seeded team. I’m sure it gives, the fans in the lovely city of Washington, DC hope that they win a legit playoff series. Good luck against Sidney Crosby, and company when you meet up with them. I promise you that won’t be easy, and they will come out with their little penguin powers and beaks ready for y’all! Hahahahaha!

22 04 2010
Katie

Wow, I didn’t think this Gordo post was meant to be an in-your-face-Candadiens post AT ALL, but apparently you got one Habs fan pretty riled up! Sheesh.

22 04 2010
dazey2

Ha, I know. The point of the post was to show my love for Boyd Gordon. Those Canadiens fans can be so touchy.

Leave a Reply

