Kickball Revelation

16 04 2010

I am writing this drunk. I have been blogging for more than a year and have yet to write a blog while drunk so I think it’s about time. True, since I’m not wasted and since my computer underlines any misspelled words, this will not seem like a drunkenly-written post. But it is. I promise you that.

So I have have recently come to a pretty sad conclusion about playing kickball. After being on a kickball team for the past four seasons, I have come to the conclusion that I will not get into a relationship through kickball. I have been through the kickball system so long without a boyfriend, that at this point, with my history, it is highly unlikely that I will actually get a BF.

Yes, it is a sad thought, especially since one of the reasons for continuing with kickball was to hopefully get into a relationship. But since I have spent so much time within the kickball system with such an unsuccessful pattern of being sans-boyfriend, there is no way I can be so positive that I will leave this season with at least a boyfriend under my belt. I can no longer assume that since I have been “in the system” for so long, that it has been about time for me to have a BF.

Sadly that is not the case. And maybe now that I am finally coming to terms that I should not be looking for a relationship through kickball, maybe just then will I find a BF. You know what they say, “It’s when you aren’t actively looking for a relationship, that’s when you actually get into a relationship.” Yeah, well, we shall see about that…

Actions

Information

One response

21 04 2010
M

I really do think placing so much emphasis on finding a boyfriend is damaging. I’ve done it in the past (for far too long) but after a bad relationship that I allowed myself to continue in just to have one, I realized its stupid. There are plenty of guys in the world, I’m obviously not meeting the right ones, so I listed myself on an online dating website. I’ve now had quite a few interesting first dates, a handful of good ones, and a great one that, although it didn’t end up developing into a serious relationship, is a great friendship that will continue. I don’t actively search anymore, and I find I’m approached far more often now. You have fun playing kickball, so enjoy it for what it is.

Leave a Reply

