Strange Brew

23 03 2010

I’m taking a trip with my family to Mexico next week, and to prepare for my nine-day long trip, I decided to do some research on some of the things that mattered to me most. I started with the unique beer and alcohol that our neighbors down south have to offer.

In addition to an exciting array of Mexican beer (or, cervesa, as the locals call it), I discovered quite a different beer-based drink called the Michelada. According to About.com, the Michelada recipe goes something like this:

Ingredients:

  • 1 ice cold Mexican beer (dark is better)
  • coarse salt (for the rim)
  • 1/4 cup fresh lime juice
  • 1-2 dashes of hot chile sauce (such as Tabasco, Tapatio or Cholula)
  • 1 dashes of soy sauce
  • 1 dashes worchestshire sauce
  • beer mug or large glass (chilled if possible)
  • Ice
  • lime wedge for garnish

Preparation:

Salt the rim of the glass by wetting the edge with some of the lime juice then dipping it into a plate with salt on it. Now fill the glass about half way with ice and pour in the lime juice, chile sauce, soy sauce and worchestshire sauce. Mix with a spoon then slowly pour in the beer to the top of the glass. Push the lime wedge onto the edge and serve immediatley. When you have a few drinks, pour the remaining beer into the cocktail.

Now to me, this all sounds pretty gross. While I am a fan of a hint of lime in my beer, and a touch of salt doesn’t even sound so drastic, the rest of the ingredients seem a bit…strange. Ok, I can imagine Tabasco sauce in beer, maybe, but then again, maybe Mexicans eat/drink everything with hot sauce. But when you mix it all into a beer plus soy sauce (I’d like to know the origins of how this got into the recipe) and worchestshire sauce, it just kind seems like not the ideal mixture put into a beer.

With all this being stated however, I am determined to try this odd concoction. The Michelada reminds me of when I ventured to Scotland to study abroad and discovered their local delicacy, Haggis. Check out the recipe here. (Note: not for the faint of stomach.) After joking about how disturbing of a dish Haggis was, I tried it, and now it is one of my favorite foods. I mean, if the locals like it, how bad can it be? People don’t eat or drink things that don’t taste good, so I am hopeful.

Actions

Information

4 responses

23 03 2010
Joe

mmmmmm, looks good!

25 03 2010
Mexican Cuisine: Bugs And Cannibalism? « C.A.P.S.love.

[…] way to Mexico in a matter of two days, and I’m getting pretty excited to visit a new country. My last post about my upcoming trip was about the strange alcoholic beverages available in Mexico, and this post […]

5 04 2010
Spring Break in Mexico’s Top 10 « C.A.P.S.love.

[…] Remember that drink I was so excited to try called the Michelada? Remember how nasty it looked and how I was going to conquer it anyways? Well, it was in fact truly […]

28 12 2010
A Few Of My Favorite Posts: 2010 Part 1 « C.A.P.S.love.

[…] March brought a memorable family trip to another country. I discovered that the locals there are very fond of an alcoholic beverage that I got. It might have been the grossest concoction I’ve ever drank. […]

Leave a Reply

