90s Pop At It’s Best

13 11 2009

A. 55  11/13/09

I’m celebrating today’s Friday the 13th with behavior that I will probably regret. Because you know, I think bad luck days should be celebrated in some sort of way that reflects bad life choices. Also, today’s post is inspired by this week’s Song of the Week.

So I admit it, I used to be a huge fan of the Pokemon TV show. So much so that I saw the Pokemon movie in theaters. I may have even bought the movie on VHS. But somehow I also got a hold of the soundtrack. I really can’t remember how I got it though, but I still have the CD. This soundtrack has some of the most infectious pop music created in the 1990s. (The movie came out in 1999.) Either way, I used to like the music in this soundtrack. After completely forgetting about the soundtrack, I revisited the CD one day when I was on a serious 90’s music kick. The songs on this soundtrack are by musicians like Britney Spears, 98 Degrees, Aaron Carter, Vitamin C, Baby Spice, N*Sync, B*Witched, and Christina Aguilera. Some songs are so old that most of you wouldn’t know that Britney did a song for this movie soundtrack called, Soda Pop or that 98 Degrees did the song, Fly With Me.

Unfortunately, trying to find these songs on YouTube, has proved a little difficult, since I’m assuming the songs and their source are not so popular. Finding the music videos proved even harder, so I was forced to watch fan-made videos which may or may not have anything to do with “Pokemon: The First Movie.” A good example of this disconnect between video and music is the best thing I could find for Baby Spice’s song, (Hey You) Free Up Your Mind and Aaron Carter’s (Have Some) Fun With The Funk.

As for the videos I found that are actually related to Pokemon in some way, they are below. First up is the super sugar-coated, “Catch Me If You Can” by Angela Via:

Next is “Brother My Brother” by Blessid Union Of Souls:

And to end the post is the only music video I could find which is actually related to not only Pokemon, but also the movie it’s from, is this music video for the song, “Don’t Say You Love Me” by M2M. Unfortunately though, aside from having clips of the movie in the video, the video seems to have nothing to do with the actual song. Oh well! Enjoy:

So with all that I just put out there, I hope you have an awesome, sugar-coated, 90’s pop-infused Friday the 13th!

Actions

Information

One response

30 11 2010
December Can Only Mean One Thing… « C.A.P.S.love.

[…] it all. I had a few Pokémon toys. I saw the first movie in theaters, and even got (and still own) the soundtrack. When the fad seemed to lose steam, and I got older, I began to lose interest. But lately, my little […]

Leave a Reply

