Tricking And Treating

30 10 2009

A. 51  10/30/09

I just read an article in the newspaper, The Examiner about how Trick-or-Treating should only be for children. According to the article, some city in Illinois (if I remember correctly) will not allow children who have finished the eighth grade, to go out Trick-or-Treating. I completely disagree with this notion and think that anyone who wants to should be able to go Trick-or-Treating.

I could somewhat relate to the article when it talked about how some older kids get “reprimanded” almost, by adults giving out candy. I experienced a similar thing back in college, when some of my friends and I went out Trick-or-Treating. Such adults, give the older crowd (i.e: high schoolers through college-aged folks) a talking-to and a mini speech about how they are too old for Trick-or-Treating, but then they end their little “trick” by still handing out candy. Not only is this totally hypocritical, but it totally sucks the fun out of what should be an innocent form of entertainment.

Plus, if you assume that the act of going door to door in costume and awarded with candy is a far better choice than being rowdy, causing harmful pranks, toilet papering houses, and other nuisances; then I see nothing wrong with the older crowd participating in the timeless act of Trick-or-Treating. It’s also a more acceptable decision for high schoolers and those under 21 who can not legally drink. But really, I just don’t understand why adults get so riled up over something as harmless as an older crowd going Trick-or-Treating.

In recent years in my neighborhood, my family has been left with plenty of leftover candy, since not enough children have been going out Trick-or-Treating. And that is coming from a neighborhood with a pretty fair amount of children. I’ve talked to my mother about this and she’s expressed that if more people went Trick-or-Treating, regardless of age, then there would be less leftover candy. Which honestly, if I were her, I wouldn’t be complaining about, because not much is wrong with the concept of “leftover candy”, but it can be somewhat discouraging and annoying. Plus, I have no doubt that children probably are more appreciative of having more candy, than adults would be.

True, the above 21 crowd, also gets the appealing option of going Trick-or-Treating from bar to bar for drinks, instead of house to house for candy. And while both are fun in their own ways, they are not quite the same thing. So I say, it doesn’t matter your age! Go out and protest your right to go Trick-or-Treating!

For this day before Halloween, I present you with this somewhat-creepy and very fantastic song by The Specials.

Happy 1 More Day to Halloween!!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

