Half Smoke Glory

7 10 2009

F/D. 13  10/7/09

I didn’t have time to make all of my lunch for today, so I decided to buy an excitingly-cheap ($1.75) Half Smoke from a food vendor outside my building.

For the first time in my life as a Washingtonian, I tried a Half Smoke last weekend from a vendor outside the Corcoran museum on 17th Street. I was greeted with so many topping options: ketchup, mustard, sauerkraut, cheese, chili, relish, and maybe more, but I was too excited to listen to the ongoing list of options. I settled on ketchup, mustard, and sauerkraut -something I’ve actually never eaten before, but I was in an adventurous mood.

Like my first Half Smoke last weekend, today’s meal-in-a-bun was fantastic. It was warm, messy, tasty, and a little spicy with a kick in my mouth. What I have come to learn about the Half Smoke is that it’s more than just a hot dog or sausage. The Half Smoke is half-spicy. It has a stronger flavor than a hot dog. The spices linger in your mouth. The flavor sticks with you longer. It is more filling and very enjoyable.

Picture 3

I think the Half Smoke might be my latest food obsession. It’s probably up there for me with the fantastic Pumpkin Milkshake, a fall seasonal treat at Good Stuff Eatery. (You know I mentioned it in here for good reason. It’s amazing! Go out and get yourself one!)

Delicious.

Actions

Information

One response

7 10 2009
Patrick

I’ve never had a Half Smoke but I’m waiting for a trip to Ben’s Chili Bowl before I try one.

Leave a Reply

