My Favorite Sentence

26 08 2009

A.37  8/26/09

I recently finished reading a childhood favorite book. One of the reasons I revisited this book was because I remembered reading the best sentence ever in the book. I had remembered the quotation more than I remembered what the book was even about, it was that great. So without further adieu, here is my favorite quote(s) from the book,Maniac Magee. The sentences immediately following are also great…

“For the life of him, he couldn’t figure why these East Enders called themselves black. He kept looking and looking, and the colors he found were gingersnap and light fudge and dark fudge and acorn and butter rum and cinnamon and burnt orange. But never licorice, which to him, was real black.”

“He especially loved the warm brown of Mrs. Beale’s thumb, as it appeared from under the creamy white icing that she allowed him to lick away when she was frosting his favorite cake.”

– Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli

Those quotations are great because they use most of your senses to describe a simple sight. Spinelli clearly uses the senses of taste, touch, smell, and sight. It’s almost as if his description makes you hungry for sweets even though you know he’s writing about the color of someone’s skin. Pretty clever writing if you ask me, and more importantly, it sure was memorable to me.

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 04 2010
sarah

this book is a great book but i have to do a book report on it 😛

13 06 2011
Faith

Yea same I’m doing the exact same thing but it’s a great book I read it when I was in 6th grade and now ihave to read it again in the 10th grade

Leave a Reply

