To Be A Kid

12 08 2009

Yesterday I went on a mission. I was going to try to check out a few books from the library. This turned out to be way more interesting than it sounds.

First of all, I went to a library that is not my usual library, but since I moved, I have taken to going to a different place which is actually Metro accessible. While I did at one point grow up going to this library, they have since given it a major renovation and thus, every time I go there I am completely lost. Yesterday when I went, I had time, so I decided to walk around and try to figure out the layout and where everything is categorized. (Most importantly, I found out where the DVDs and VHS tapes and CDs are kept. Free access to media is way better than Red Box or a video rental store!)

Anyways, I started off my search. I had two books in mind to get from the library. I have decided that my next wave  of reading will be re-reading books I read in Middle and High School which I liked but don’t quite remember. (Apparently while I may have read a lot during my school years, the books did not stick with me.) One was a book I had read back in Middle School that I remember liking, but I couldn’t for the life of me, remember why or what it was about. The book is,  Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli. I remember one of the best written sentences I have ever read was in this book, but I don’t really remember what the sentence was. The other book is, Diary of a Wimpy Kid (2) Rodrick Rules by Jeff Kinney. (There is a whole series of the Wimpy Kid books which are always highly sought after by most Elementary School kids. I read the first one in under an hour, while standing at a table. It was addicting and funny that I could even focus on sitting down.)

 

The first book of the addicting series.

The first book of the addicting series.

 

I searched for the two books on an online database and discovered they were in the “Juvenile Fiction” section. Yet another part of the library I was unfamiliar with. I wandered over to the kids’ section. I felt out of place as I towered over the extra-small, brightly colored children’s furniture. Thankfully, a librarian noticed how I obviously stuck out and offered up her assistance. I handed her my list and she gladly helped me. 

After I had left the library, I called up a friend to tell them my adventure of wandering around the children’s section of the library. My friend thought I was super creepy and pedophile-like. No way. I defended myself saying that the librarian could have assumed I either had a kid of my own (ugh!) or was a teacher or even a baby sitter. In fact, I am a kindergarten teacher at my Sunday School, so that wasn’t a complete lie. Either way, I felt pretty awesome to have gotten the two children’s books I had wanted.

 

The second part of this story of how I’m really a child happened today at lunch. I have always been curious about the PB&J sandwich that Potbelly’s Sandwich Works offers. Most sandwich shops don’t offer that option, so it most be pretty good. On my lunch break today, I decided to find out for myself. I felt like a little kid (again!) as I called out my lunch request to the Potbelly’s employee standing behind the counter. Just asking for a peanut butter and jelly sandwich at a restaurant felt like I was a picky (and sticky!) little kid. 

So it turns out that Potbelly’s version of the classic PB&J is on toasted bread. And it’s incredibly messy and goopy because of that. Large, thick pieces of bread (wheat in my case) are used to try and contain the enormous hunk of gooey, warm peanut butter and big slop of sticky grape jelly in between. The last time I had such a messy sandwich may well have been when I was a little kid. It was truly impressive. And quite delicious.

 

A view from the side.

A view from the side.

All in all, I’d have to think that kids have it pretty good! Reading awesome books, sitting in small, brightly colored furniture made just for them and eating messy, gooey peanut butter and jelly sandwiches without a care in the world. Kids really have it made. They’ve got the sweet life, alright.

Actions

Information

One response

12 08 2009
Patrick

I think ordering PB&J at a sandwich place is almost like ordering Grilled cheese- you could make it yourself at home for less.

Leave a Reply

