My Sixth Sense

7 08 2009

I seem to have some joke of a sixth sense. I can pretty much sense if a guy is shirtless and/or taking their shirt off in public within a distance of a quarter mile. I’m not gonna lie, it’s not a bad sixth sense to have. Especially since to my luck, the majority of such bare chests have been quite easy on the eye. That is, except for something I unfortunately saw yesterday…

It was the first game of kickball of a new season and the teams were trying to figure out where they were playing on the fields surrounding the Washington Monument. My team and our opposing team somehow could not figure out where we would be playing our game, as we strolled from one location to the next. Some point at our tentative second field, a friend on the opposing team got my attention from behind my back. I got that tingling, “Spidey Sense” and knew that a shirt was peeling off a guy’s chest nearby. As I turned to watch this wonderment, I suddenly became partially blinded.

I struggled to pull my sunglasses out of my purse as the afternoon sun had reflected off the pale, white skin of my buddy’s bare chest. It was like a train wreck. I had never seen my friend shirtless which was somewhat thrilling, but on the other hand, I didn’t want him to catch me shielding my eyes. (Thankfully, I don’t think he noticed as my eyes burned in their sockets.) 

I should have known that a chest as pale as my friend, probably was not the best thing to look at without the proper eye safety precautions. Next time I will be prepared and always have my sunglasses ready or already on.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

