Hot Pants

15 07 2009

Well it took long enough, but it finally hit me that it’s summer in the city, and it hit me hard. After an extra long break of walking around in the sweltering heat, I practically fainted when I got back to my desk. (My co-workers noticed my evident deathly slump, and I had to apologize for the heat getting to me. Since when did someone have to apologize for the weather? It’s not under my control!)

And maybe it’s no more hot today than it has been the past week, but I’d guess it’s at least 90ºF. And I’ll let you in on a not-so-secret: I have lost my common sense. For some reason I continue to think it’s acceptable to wear pants in July. And yet, I have a number of perfectly fine skirts I could wear to work. (Or at the least, I really don’t have to go outside on my lunch breaks.) Either way, I continue to make bad decisions which are also unhealthy and unsafe. And I hate to admit it, but as much as I keep telling myself every morning as I get dressed for work, that I should not put on those pants, I somehow find myself caught in the dangerous pattern of wearing the comfortable and easy choice of pants.

So today, halfway through my break, I resorted to rolling up my dress pants. I know this is a major fashion faux pax, and really, normally, I would never dare, but I wasn’t at work, and seriously, the heat was just unbearable. So I rolled my gray pants up to look like messed up bermuda shorts (or short capris) and continued to walk around Penn Quarter. By the time I got back to work, I was already comfortable in my doofy new look, so I just kept my pants rolled up. I feel like desperate times call for desperate measures. 

It’s just that I like wearing pants so much. But I’m not anti-shorts. In fact, I’ve been on the long hunt for dress shorts. (Dress pants that stop around the knee and are suitable to wear to work.) I think it’s more that I’m not much of a dress or skirt person. Maybe I should just suck it up and wear the obviously cooler options, anyways. 

Another thing I could do to cool off is to go against my Socks Revolution and actually start wearing sandals to work. I actually recently bought a really cool pair of sandals that look like black flip flops but that also have a heel backing with a bunch of beaded anklets connected. (–It takes the not so great idea of wearing flip flops to work and dresses them up into a more acceptable choice.)

 Maybe tomorrow will be different…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

