Celebrities Are Dying!

26 06 2009

Celebrities are just not. allowed. to. die. It’s true. Can you imagine someone famous you’ve known your whole life, ceasing to exist? I understand that EVERYONE dies. Fine. But celebrities are almost beyond human. They are other-worldly. They just can’t die. This is especially shocking when not one, but two very famous people die on the same day. What are the odds?

Yesterday, Thursday, June 25th, 2009 Farrah Fawcett and Michael Jackson joined the list of deceased celebrities. Both celebrities have had a big influence on me, especially recently.

A few years ago, I decided that I wanted to have a very 70’s hairdo. In warmer weather, especially the summer, my hair gets curly. I wanted to tap into those curls and let them flow. I searched the internet for pictures of my ideal hairstyle and happily rediscovered the lovely locks of Farrah Fawcett.

Farrah-Fawcett-hair

I loved the way her hair flew away from her face and her wavy curls framed her head. And the rest of her hair just cascaded down her shoulders and back. So lovely, so 1970’s, and so seemingly effortless. What a great hairstyle. And as I searched the internet for more photos of this luscious, feathered look, I came to the conclusion that nobody could pull the look off as successful as Farrah could.

 

Good try here, but these are wigs. And I love that they are both out of stock.

Good try here, but these are wigs. And I love that they are both out of stock.

 

When I heard that Michael Jackson had died, it was on the radio and I just blew it off as someone who coincidentally had that name. It just seemed completely out of the realm of possibilities that THE Michael Jackson could die. I was on my way to a bar, and when I got there, the sports bar that normally plays any and every kind of sport had its televisions turned to the late breaking news that the King of Pop really had died. It was too bizarre for words. A friend of mine had called me on the phone and when I told him that Michael Jackson had died, my friend had the same reaction that I did…

Me: Michael Jackson died!

My friend: Who?!

Me: Michael Jackson!

My friend: Who’s that?!?

Me: You know, Michael Jackson! The singer!!!

My friend: WHAAAAT??????!!!!!

Me: Yeah, I know! OMG!

With Farrah Fawcett, I knew she was very sick and very close to death, so her death wasn’t as much of a shock to me. But Michael Jackson was a prime 50 years old and was apparently planning to go on tour in the near future. Plus, Farrah Fawcet had her prime career before I was born, so I was less attached to her. But Michael Jackson had some of his biggest hits during my childhood. I grew up with his music. I sang along to Weird Al’s parodies of MJ’s, Fat (I’m Bad) and Eat It (Beat It). Below are some of my favorite pictures and memories of Michael Jackson…

MJ pics

May they both Rest In Peace.

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 05 2010
Dorche

I like this post. Hope you to post useful article soon

25 06 2012
Three Years To Day | C.A.P.S.Love Two: The Girl On The JumboTron

[…] Three years ago today we lost two fantastic celebrities: Michael Jackson and Farrah Fawcett. When the newspaper reminded me that it was three years ago that these two well known and well loved famous people had died, I was initially shocked. Had it already been three whole years? […]

Leave a Reply

