The Fireman Screams And The Engine Just Gleams

23 06 2009

“Trouble ahead, lady in red,
Take my advice youd be better off dead.
Switchman’s sleeping train hundred and two is
On the wrong track and headed for you.

Driving that train, high on cocaine,
Casey Jones is ready, watch your speed.
Trouble ahead, trouble behind,
And you know that notion just crossed my mind.

Trouble with you is the trouble with me,
Got two good eyes but you still don’t see.
Come round the bend, you know its the end,
The fireman screams and the engine just gleams…”

Casey Jones by The Grateful Dead

I’m sure everyone in the D.C. area has by now heard about the Metro incident yesterday which has been dubbed the “most deadly accident in all Metro history.” So I’m not going to bore you with a news report of what happened. If you however, would like to know the story, you can find it here. You can even watch videos here.

June 22, 2009

June 22, 2009

 

What I will say is that one of my co-workers, The Jewish One (–my nickname for her. She isn’t even that Jewish, but she doesn’t really have any other memorable characteristics.) takes the Red Line home in that direction after work. My co-workers and I were all thinking about her last night and this morning. Apparently The Jewish One was on the train directly behind the train that ran into the other. She was one train away from the incident and one train away from disaster. Thank goodness she was that one train away.

My co-worker did tell us though, that her train had to stop for a long time at the moment of the accident. Apparently the train she was on did not have working air conditioning. A person on her train apparently had an Asthma attack because of the stuffiness and the waiting, so the train had to make an emergency stop at/near the Catholic University stop. Other than that drama, and the hours of waiting and taking a shuttle home instead of the Metro, my co-worker was fine.

As for my end, I did not take the Metro yesterday after work. Thankfully, I carpool with my dad to and from work, so I didn’t have to deal with the Metro drama yesterday evening. I do want to thank my friends and family and family of friends who were concerned for my safety yesterday. A lot of you out there know that I’m always on the Metro, especially the Red Line. I really appreciate your concerns. It meant a lot to me that for example, my friend’s mom called my friend at work to ask him if he knew if I was ok.  How sweet. And while, I may not have returned everyone’s phone calls in a timely manner, I very much appreciate the phone messages you left me, wishing I was safe.

One friend called the commotion like a “mini 9-11,” and while yesterday’s events may not really be that traumatic, it was an interesting perspective. I went to the grocery store last night and the cashiers were so wrapped up in conversing about the Metro accident, they could barely concentrate on their jobs. I went home and watched the latest James Bond movie, Quantum of Solace, and felt guilty for watching a movie in which many people die on various modes of transportation. (Though it was a good movie!)

So once again, thank you so much to everyone who expressed concern for my safety. I’m safe and I’m fine. Let’s hope that something like this doesn’t happen again.

Actions

Information

One response

24 06 2009
bames jond

yay bond movies

Leave a Reply

