No Phone

14 04 2009

Rhyming chiming got me working all the time
Gives me such a worried mind
Now I don’t want to seem unkind
But god it’s such a crime

– Cake

The phone at my desk at work is ALWAYS ringing. And I never pick it up. 90% of the time it isn’t for me. I’m still new enough that I won’t know who to refer to calls to or how to answer the queries of the numerous people who do call our office. Plus my phone shows me when people are actually calling me on my line. And guess what, it’s only 50% of the time that the call is actually for me when I get calls on my line. So basically, I try to never pick up my phone. I know, I’m a terrible employee, but I just don’t like to talk on the phone to people I don’t know. It’s awkward and often times, hard to understand people’s accents, too. It’s probably not the best thing that I don’t especially like talking on the phone to clients, because it seems to be a good chunk of the job duties. But then again, a lot of the time I can just get away with emailing people because it can be easier to communicate. It’s more timely (if you’re not at the phone, busy, or miss the call for one reason or another), easier to understand, and you can even send attachments! Hooray.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

