Simple Minds

2 04 2009

The other day I was at a bar with a bunch of friends and the song, “Don’t You (Forget About Me)” came on. Everyone was racking their minds, trying to remember the group who did the song. Since I just coincidentally played the song at work (and I love the song) I told everyone that the band was called, Simple Minds.  We all wondered if that song was a “one hit wonder” for the group or if they had any other hit songs.

So I did my homework today and looked up the band on wikipedia here. According to the a brief skim through of the page, I learned that the group has “achieved five UK number one albums and a number one single Belfast Child.” I also found out that they have a number of hit songs such as, “See The Lights” and “Glitterball.”

I typed in the band name to YouTube and have been listening to a lot of their songs all day. Until today, and like many of my peers, I had only known of their hit song [“Don’t You (Forget About Me)” ] from the great movie, The Breakfast Club. With that being said, I am including my two new favorite songs by Simple Minds. I like how catchy the songs are and I love the typical 1980’s sound the band has captured. I might even venture to say that Simple Minds could be my new favorite band of the moment. (Plus, they’re Scottish, which is pretty cool. I love Scotland!)

Actions

Information

3 responses

3 04 2009
Music snob

I’m struck by how much “See the Lights” sounds like a U2 song…

3 04 2009
dazey2

YES. I was waiting for someone to comment on that. I completely agree.

3 04 2009
dazey2

THIS U2 song totally sounds like Simple Mind’s “See The Lights”….

…same key, same beat, probably the same chords, same voice feeling and emotion

Leave a Reply

