A Metro Stalker?

16 03 2009

A few months ago, I used to see this man on the Metro on the way to work. It was one of those bizarre cases where I had seen this man twice on the Metro, on two completely separate days, however both times it was the same Metro line and around the same time of the morning. I thought it was so strange that I sneakily took a picture of the man:

metro-guy1

 

Well, as crazy as it was that I was seeing the same person on multiple occasions on the Metro, I have apparently come to see a handful of “Metro regulars.” (Not unlike this instance.)

[For example, there is this very short, old lady who I have frequently ridden on the Metro with. She is very easy to notice: she has died red hair, she is probably under or around four feet tall, and in the colder months, she wears an ultra-patriotic, kitschy, possibly cotton-polyester American flag hat. This hat looks like something you might find discarded away in a musty closet filled with once-exciting holiday festive clothes. It was probably bought for the Inauguration.  I would originally guess maybe, a Fourth of July parade, except that this rather warm looking hat, would probably make you sweat in early July.

Anyways, this lady must have some sort of walking problem, because she always takes a long time to enter and exit the Metro train, as she slowly half-waddles her way through crowds. This disruption in the Metro’s ever-flowing constant crowds, usually keeps other passengers from making their train or stop, since she tends to take her time in an underground world where time is money.]

Anyways, the guy who I had seen previously on the Metro has these very larger brown eyes, a mop of brown hair, and looks distinctively younger than he probably is (I would guess his mid 30’s). His boyish face makes him possibly look like he’s around 10 years old. The weird thing is, that this past weekend I saw the very same man outside of the Metro. I actually encountered him in “real life.” (For the record, I saw the short, Patriotic lady last week, walking out of a building that neighbors the building in which I work. That made sense to me, that the reason I saw her so frequently could be that we just have the same commute to work.) I saw this familiar face in the National Gallery of Art in a particularly interesting exhibit of the photographer, Robert Frank. It was almost as if we were long forgotten friends, except that we were both complete strangers. When I first saw him, we both may have even made eye contact. I wonder if he too, recognized me. Well, in the last room of the exhibit was a short movie about some of the artist’s pieces. I had sat down to watch it, and when I had finished seeing the film’s loop, I got up from the bench I was sitting on. When I turned to look back to see if I had missed anything in the room, I discovered the Metro Guy sitting right behind me. I was a little freaked out and wondered if he had sat there on purpose. He was my Metro stalker and I hurried out of the exhibit.

Actions

Information

4 responses

16 03 2009
watcat

Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

17 03 2009
wonker

Interesting blog, I’ll try and spread the word.

19 03 2009
People watcher

I love situations like that. It’s dangerous when you start to create a whole life story for the person, so that you actually feel like friends when you see the person again. I can’t tell you how many people I’ve almost said “hello” to because I’ve simply seen them so many times…

20 03 2009
matt

This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

Leave a Reply

