Baby Names and Singing Men

26 02 2009

I have come to a recent discovery about guys who like me (whom I like back). There have been a number of occasions when conversations turn to either the discussion of future children’s names (with the imagination that the two of us will at some point procreate) or a conversation which somehow involves the guy singing to me. Yeah, pretty strange. 

When I was younger, my friends and I used to think up what we would name our future children. We used to dream up the perfect names for our future kids and try to imagine what last name we would grow up to take as our own. It was a game to us. But these days, those fantasies have become a little more realistic. I have friends who are married. I have friends who have their own kids. It is so weird. And now that I have reached “that age,” I have come to discuss baby names with guys. It is especially odd for me, since I am really not interested in having children anytime soon. But nonetheless, the topic of future children’s names has still come up. Granted, since I am not interested in having my own kids, I have taken this conversation to be more joke-like. For example, my newest baby name idea (as a joke) is Alex Ovechkin (as a first name only.) So for an example, using “Smith” as a last name and “Jane” as a middle name (because the Alex in Alex Ovechkin could work for either gender) The full name would be: Alex Ovechkin Jane Smith. Pretty crazy, but then again, people (aka: Gwyneth Paltrow) have been known to name their kids some pretty weird names (aka: Apple).

As for this whole singing phenomenon, I know I am a good listener. I even enjoy listening, sometimes maybe more than talking.  So many people (not just guys) feel comfortable talking (a lot) to me. I guess this emphasizes my sometimes passive personality.  So it is no surprise that if a guy is comfortable talking to me, he will also apparently be comfortable singing for* me. (*Note: Just because a guy will sing for me, does not necessarily mean he is singing to me.) So, consequently, I have had guys sing to me (most often over the phone). It’s cute, really. And I’m not complaining either! And I have yet to experience a singer who truly makes me cringe at their voice…nice! [Also to note – singing has not become the way to woo me. I do not suggest breaking out your vocal pipes just because of this blog post. I am just noting the funny coincidence that I have come to discover about how recently, guys will sing for me.]

Actions

Information

One response

26 02 2009
MePregnant

Baby Names and Singing Men « C.A.P.S.love….

And now that I have reached “that age,” I have come to discuss baby names with guys. It is especially odd for me, since I am really not interested in having children anytime soon. But nonetheless, the topic of future children’s names ……

Leave a Reply

