Heaven In A Cup

15 01 2009

This past weekend I went to my new favorite restaurant, Good Stuff Eatery. It’s located on South Capitol Hill. Good Stuff Eatery is headed by past Top Chef contestant, Spike, and if you’ve never been, you are seriously missing out.

picture-23

This burger joint serves all your standards of burgers and fries, and milkshakes which are out of this world. They advertise their food as “handmade burgers, hand-cut fries and handspun ice cream,” all which are hard to turn down. Some menu highlights include the classic Farmhouse Burger, the Toasted Marshmallow milkshake, the sweet potato fries, and the Rosemary & Thyme french fries. 

I’ve gone to Good Stuff about 4 times, and 95% of time, the very Chef Spike himself is there serving or cooking, so his fans can go talk to him which is a major highlight and draw of the joint. This past time was no exception. My brother and I are big fans of Spike and not only got our pictures taken with him, but we also had the privilege of conversing with him. The three of us were discussing this season of Top Chef and agreed that it has been rather disappointing in the lack of “characters” and personalities you really get to know and like (like Spike!). Spike did tell us he likes Fabio a lot. My brother agreed, saying how Fabio is funny and clever and we like how he is Italian. 

Good Stuff Eatery is also very good to its fans and hosts a Top Chef viewing every Wednesday at 10pm. I have yet to attend these shindigs, but Spike apparently “blogs” along with the show on Twitter.com.

Anyways, on to this post…this past visit, I tried for the first time the famous Toasted Marshmallow milkshake and now I know why it is so praised. Here are some of my comments upon tasting the deliciousness:

“OhmyGod this is like heaven in a cup.”

“This is like drinking Lucky Charms.”

“I don’t think I can go back to drinking anything else now.”

“Can I order the orgasm-flavored shake?”

Toasted Marshmallow awesomeness

Toasted Marshmallow awesomeness

Yup. I think that basically sums it up. It’s like the best thing. Ever. My mom asked Spike what other of his milkshakes were amazing, to which Spike recommended the Chocolate shake, the Milky Way, and the Black and White. Back in the fall, I tried the Pumpkin shake which was out of this world.

Chef Spike Mendelsohn

Chef Spike Mendelsohn

Actions

Information

One response

30 04 2015
The Milkshake Taste Test: Good Stuff Eatery | C.A.P.S.Love Two

[…] Stuff, so we headed to their Georgetown location. My go-to shake is the Toasted Marshmallow. On past visits, I have declared it “the stuff that dreams are made of” and “orgasmic,” to […]

Leave a Reply

