Standing Ovation

6 01 2009

I went to a musical last night called, Next To Normal. It was pretty good…a modern musical directed by the same guy who directed, Rent. It was about a dysfunctional family. Not your everyday dysfunctional family, because what fun is that? Yes, I know, you think your family is just as dysfunctional as the next person thinks their family is. But does your family has a non-existent yet interfering ghost-like son and a mom who goes through Electric-shock Therapy? Didn’t think so.

But that’s not what I’m getting at. Ok, the show was good, like I said. Not fantasically amazing, but good. Good music, good acting, good cast. Good. I’d give the show a B or a B+. So when it came time for the bows at the end, I was just contempt to sit there and clap. However everyone around me needed to give the small cast a standing ovation. My problem with this is that I’ve noticed lately that a standing ovation has become something of a “common courtesy” at the end of a show. Like, everyone’s been doing it. But I don’t think that’s right. I mean, that just diminishes what a standing ovation is supposed to be. – A little something extra. That extra oomph to tell the performers how much you enjoyed the show. I strongly doubt everyone in the theatre last night felt the show was THAT good.

On a related note, I’ve been to plenty of concerts where the audience wants to all get up and stand for multiple songs in a row. That’s fine. Except when that “standing up mood” has yet to strike me but in order to continue to see the concert, I must too, stand up. And then that’s just kind of awkward.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

