Street Art: “A Visual Gift”

23 12 2011

It seems like Penn Quarter is quietly becoming the new hot spot for street art sightings. It’s surprising because this little neighborhood is always changing its appearance and is currently going through some remodeling in terms of new business coming in. Over the past few weeks, I’ve already seen some pretty cool street art budding along the streets, so it’s cool to see a consistent flow of new pieces popping up.

Today, I’m featuring a piece I saw at the beginning of the week. Drawing on the Postal Service’s address stickers is popular, probably one reason being, because they are a free medium. As I was walking down on 7th St., I couldn’t help noticing this bright design, gracing the side of the future Wagamama. I love the bright colors used and the playful amorphous design shown. The warm colors stand out in these (supposed) colder months. I also like that you can see that this piece was obviously drawn using markers/pens, a very accessible drawing medium, unlike some street art pieces done with spray paint or a printing process. This piece is like a visual gift for the eye, not dealing with any (obvious) message or reference. How delightful!

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 06 2012
Street Art: Robot On The Metro | C.A.P.S.Love Two: The Girl On The JumboTron

[...] been a while since the last time I highlighted some fantastic Street Art, but I’m back today to share with you my most recent noteworthy sighting. I do cherish the [...]

1 06 2012
Street Art: A Robot On The Metro | C.A.P.S.Love Two: The Girl On The JumboTron

[...] been a while since the last time I highlighted some fantastic Street Art, but I’m back today to share with you my most recent noteworthy sighting. I do cherish the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

