The Friends Zone

3 03 2011

I think I have been placed in the Friends Zone. This was not what I had wanted. The Friends Zone, although a perfectly fine place to be, is only appropriate for some –though not all– instances. The Friends Zone, for those unfamiliar with the term, is what happens when you have met someone and have decided that you want to be friends with that person. (If you want a more in-depth explanation, check out the page on Wikipedia.) Here is a perfect example of being in the Friends Zone:

As you can see, the Friends Zone can be loads of fun… if it’s mutual. However, being placed into the Friends Zone unexpectedly can be a real bummer; especially if you were expecting something more. Something like, a “real” relationship. Something along the lines of like-liking/loving that person. I can tell you from personal experience, that sure, it could be worse to be in the Friend Zone, but it’s not really ideal.

The problem, is that entrance into the Friends Zone isn’t always the same and it can be hard to keep track of how you got in there to begin with. In my most recent case, I think I have been placed into the Friends Zone due to indecisiveness and nervousness on the other person’s behalf. After a month’s worth of dates, there has been no flirting, very minimal physical interaction, and in general, we basically just act like friends to each other. But let me get this straight- this was not my planned course of action.

So, it seems that quite possibly, I have become “just a friend” to this guy. And while most people are perfectly contempt with being sucked into the vortex of the Friends Zone, I want out. I want to figure out how to not only escape the wrath of the Friends Zone, but how to leap above, and escalate this to what I thought I was getting myself into: Real Dating With A “Higher” Purpose. It may not be clean and easy, but I still think it’s worth a shot. And if the worst that could happen is that I could just be stuck in the Friends Zone, then like I said, it could be worse. I’ve dealt with that result before, and I can be ok with it. I just want a more agreeable closure.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

