A New Meme In Town

10 02 2011

Forgive me if you’ve seen this one before, but it’s news to me. There’s a new meme in town and I just can’t get enough of it. Thanks to my good pal, “PJ,” who posted this to the ever-glorious, Facebook, I can now spend my wasting moments at work scrolling through the pages of this fantastic website new to my never-ending internet stream of knowledge. Said website can be seen here and I highly encourage everyone to repeatedly check it out. The tumblr was originally created by this person’s site whose first tumblr is also entertaining.

The basic principle behind this tumblr is that it is an angsty-looking image of Ariel, taken from Disney’s movie, The Little Mermaid. (This movie happens to be one of my all-time favorite movies, so I was drawn in from the start.) Since being a Hipster is all the rage these days, the curator added a pair of Hipster-looking glasses onto Ariel to give her that too-cool-for-school look. The idea is to then create your own meme with your own text on top of the image, much like would be done for a LOLCAT meme. The trick to crafting the perfect Ariel meme is to come up with text that cleverly combines the movie with the Hipster culture. Below are some of my favorites:


A typography joke! How great!

Probably referring to Vanessa's (Ursula's human form) likeness to Katy Perry.

As with the growing popularity of memes, there is always room for more, so guests are invited to create your own Hipster Little Mermaid Meme. Mine is below, and frankly, I am surprised someone hasn’t made this joke already. Anyways, I hope you all go take a look and have fun creating your own meme. The possibilities are endless!

Actions

Information

One response

10 02 2011
Bocaj

This kinda seems more like a variation of the Courage Wolf meme more so than lolcats, but I DON’T CARE BECAUSE THIS IS AMAZINGGGG

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

