Beer Resolutions

4 01 2011

Last year, one of my New Year’s Resolutions was to try 20 new beers. Unaware that 20 was actually a pretty simple goal to achieve, I actually surpassed it and drank my way to a whopping 73 new brews. I initially thought that I would blog about each new beer in this blog, but after mentioning the first in a post, I gave that notion up. (Although, that would make for a pretty good blog all by itself.)

Out of the 73 beers I tried, there were 14 beers that I were especially fond of. Thanks to my record keeping from last year, I can transcribe those exceptional beverages to CAPSLove now. Below is the list of the best beers I tasted in 2010:

  1. Southhampton Double White
  2. Founders Double Trouble Imperial IPA
  3. Well’s Banana Bread Beer
  4. Starr Hill Lucy Spring Ale
  5. Sam Adams Cherry Wheat
  6. Leinie’s Summer Shandy
  7. Dogfish Punkin Ale
  8. Backdraft Brown
  9. Flying Dog Coffee Stout
  10. Saranac Adirondack Lager
  11. Post Road Pumpkin Ale
  12. Pilsner Urquell
  13. Winter’s Bourbon Cask Ale
  14. Flying Dog Single Hop IPA

From last year’s drinking I have come to some new and exciting knowledge. It seems that I have yet to drink a beer from the Maryland-based, Flying Dog Brewery that I did not like. So good job for Maryland for being an awesome state yet again. (Also, the brewery is very pro-Hunter S. Thompson, an amazing writer who I love.)

Unfortunately though, not every beer I tried was good. But this has to be expected, when you’re experimenting so much. The award for worst beer of 2010 goes to hands down, Old Chub – Scottish Ale.  This canned number was initially purchased for it’s surprisingly high 8.5% alc./vol. and was consumed at my birthday party at Capitol Hill’s pleasant dive, Pour House. It smelled of trash and tasted nasty. Even the bartender confessed to not hearing many good things about the beer. It’s pretty sad though, since “Old Chub” is a pretty great name, and I do love all things Scotland. Too bad I had to learn the hard way.

In 2011 one of my resolutions is to drink 50 new beers. I feel like this is actually a decent challenge, since I already have added over 70 new beers to my repertoire. This resolution to continue to expand my palette of beers has been not only obviously fun, but also pretty knowledgeable. I am all for learning (about food and drink) in an enjoyable way, and drinking beer is indeed a good time.

 

 

Actions

Information

One response

5 01 2012
An Introduction | C.A.P.S.Love Two: The Girl On The JumboTron

[...] It’s a new page I have added to the blog. I have been keeping a Beer Log since my New Years Resolution back in 2010 to start trying new beers. It was an entertaining goal to upkeep and continues to get [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

