Cold Caps

10 12 2010

As many of you are aware, the weather has turned frigid and real Winter has come early to D.C. (The official start of Winter isn’t until the 21st.) And with an abrupt change in the weather, typically brings sickness. Yes, I’m talking about flu season! Many of my friends and family, myself included, have been subject to some sort of flu or cold, and let me tell you, it isn’t a pretty sight.

Poor baby!

Well, like I said, I had a cold. I am actually, still getting over it, though it should be gone soon. And who else has caught this awful bug? Why, the Washington Capitals. I’m going to start the rumor that I gave my cold to the Caps. While it isn’t the most notable way to be recognized by the team, it could connote some flirtatious assumptions, which I am ok with.

Thankfully, the whole team isn’t under the weather, though some pretty key players are. The sick list includes Brooks Laich, Alexander Semin, Nicklas Backstrom, John Carlson, and Boyd Gordon. Mike Green is also suffering from flu symptoms and Matt Hendricks said he’s been warding off a cold for several days now. It seems this is pretty big news, as The Washington Post and my buddy’s site, Russian Machine Never Breaks have both reported about it.

This news of the flu among some of our nation’s capital’s greatest hockey players makes me ponder a few things. First of all, how is Alex The Great able to not get sick too? It seems he is always around his BFF, Semin who happens to be sick. I think Ovechkin’s super-human powers are often times underestimated.

I also bet that Tomas Fleischmann (soon to be playing the Caps tomorrow night) doesn’t feel so bad about being traded to Colorado after all. His nickname, Flash suits him well. It’s like he left D.C. and avoided the diseased Caps and was gone in a “flash.” Although, there’s also the matter of, if Tomas happens to hang with his former teammates, perhaps he’ll bring the flu back with him to Colorado. The Caps’ flu would go country-wide! It could turn into a pandemic! Watch out world! Washington, D.C.’s hockey club is sick!

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

