Shot Glass Addiction

2 12 2010

Typically I find myself buying accessories or things from what my friend likes to call, “the Home Section,” of Urban Outfitters. A few months ago while strolling the store, I spotted some hilarious shot glasses and wanted them immediately. Not only are they amazing as a set, but I can also see them working just as well individually. Here are, the “One, Two, Three, Barf” shot glasses I so dearly like:

But I couldn’t justify buying them for one reason or another. Like I said, that was a few months ago. Today as I strolled around Urban Outfitters, I spotted the same set of four glasses. They were still just as amazing and I still wanted them just as much. With the holidays (or at least Channuka) upon us, I was seriously tempted to buy them for myself. But I restrained myself for a few reasons:

  1. I keep telling myself to save my money for a trip I’m taking to Disney World early next year.
  2. I really don’t have room for these. I already have quite a collection of shot glasses and those are even using squandered space in my room. I have found myself opting to buy a shot glass from every new state, country I visit, as a nice little souvenir, so they have added up.
  3. It’s not even like I take shots that often. I really just especially am fond of small glasses. I think they’re cute. And shot glasses come in so many shapes, sizes, and styles, that I find it hard to resist them all.

To further this addiction, I decided to Google search shot glasses and found quite a few I would like to get my hands (and mouth?) on. I’m starting to think I need to invest in a proper shot glass display case of sorts (not like I have room for that either). I don’t want people getting the impression that I’m an alcoholic, which is why I try to refrain from buying shot glasses at the drop of a hat. But with this set of four I might not be able to resist. (Friends? Are you reading? Buy this for me as a gift please!) Anyways, below is a sampling of some of the best shot glasses I found online:

I have cowboy boot shot glasses very much like these that my brother gave me from Italy. This may have spawned my love for kitschy shot glasses.

"Bombs Away!" style. How cool.

James Bond "bullet" shaped. How swanky!

I love this ultra-chic shape.

This is a cool shape and I like the colored glass.

I'm a fan of the Test Tube style.

Fancy crystal that even the relatives would approve of.

The ones I have shown above are only some of the many glasses I have seen that I like. These really just caught my eye for their shape or style, but I assure you that there are probably plenty more shot glasses (like the “One, Two, Three, Barf” ones) that rely more on image and graphics that I also like. So, as you can see, I have an addiction to small drinking vessels. I like to think that it’s all because I have rather small hands. It only makes sense, right? Small glasses for small hands! See? We were meant for each other.

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 05 2011
Brendon Rubin-Oster

Shot glasses are definitely an affordable way to say you’ve been somewhere. From anywhere from $3 to $7, you can have a souvenir from the new location you’ve visited. The downside is the fragile state of your gift as it can sometimes not even survive the flight or ride home. I don’t think I’ve personally experienced such a tragedy, but I always worry about it as I pack the shot glass with several layers of EVERYTHING :)

Displaying them is always one of the more tricky tasks. Just Google image searching shot glass display cases leads to variety of extravagant items. But do I want to spend $150 for it? As of now, my shot glasses either sit along the window sill or in a drawer away from bodily harm. Hmmm, what to buy, what to buy…that’s right, more shot glasses!!

10 05 2011
Alyssa

I fount this quite amazing… i too collect shot glasses. I think i have around 30. And my friends, they are so amazing, have brought me back them from around the world, sorta… I have one from ireland, one from italy, one from israel and another friend is getting me another from israel. Another friend of mine bought me a saki cup from japan. :) theyre great… but i have them from all around the states. and some of your glasses are amazing. I did the james bond ones. I great one that my neighbor got me was one with a tilted bottem so the glass was uneven and it said I got tipsy in and then said the state.. I think it was north carolina… but it waas rad. thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

