No More Caps: A Musical Tribute

29 04 2010

This post is a response to the post my friends over at the Russian Machine Never Breaks blog wrote a few days ago. In that post, a “mix tape” was created of songs describing the Caps going into game 7. Now that that game, playoffs, and season are over, I am bringing you my short and sweet musical tribute of a mix of what the Caps have left us faithful fans feeling…

1. Sugar Ray, one of my favorite musicians from the 90s (is that hypocritical?) explains to us, that “everything that I used to know has gone out the window.” Apparently also everything that we used to know about the Caps has gone out the window…

2. The first line says it all:

“Yesterday. All my troubles seemed so far away. Now it looks as though they’re here to stay. Oh I believe in yesterday.”

3. What? You thought the Caps were worthy of their number one seed ranking for the playoffs? I thought so too. The Caps had Ovie, Green, Backstrom, Semin, and Varly (among others), so we should be unstoppable, right? Apparently, I stand corrected…

4. Caps, your ways of playing were detrimental to your teammates, your coaches, your fans, and yourself. You’ve got to change those ways. Those “evil” ways…

5. As we round down this mix, I bring you this next song from the fans’ point of view. It ended too soon and the off-season will be too long without you. We will be waiting (im)patiently for your return in the fall…

6. But alas, I can’t leave on a bitter note. Because as a dedicated fan, I always have to look to the future. To next year. Just take a look at these lyrics:

“Working hard to get my fill. Everybody wants a thrill. Paying anything to roll the dice just one more time. Some will win. Some will lose. Some were born to sing the blues.”

Granted, I don’t feel that the Capitals were necessarily born to lose (or win for that matter), but I won’t stop believing that this team was born to succeed…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

