Chasing Amy Best Quote

4 03 2010

A few nights ago I saw a well-known movie I have never gotten a chance to see before: “Chasing Amy.” It was a pretty good movie, and one of the better Kevin Smith movies I have seen. I’m not much of a fan for chick flicks, but this movie was also a comedy so that helped. My favorite part of the movie, was a monologue by the main character, Holden (played by Ben Affleck). The topic, confessing his love to a friend/crush was pretty standard as far as speeches go, in light-hearted chick flicks. But the words Holden said rang pretty darn true to a similar position I have found myself to be in before. Below is Holden’s speech:

I love you. And not, not in a friendly way, although I think we’re great friends. And not in a misplaced affection, puppy-dog way, although I’m sure that’s what you’ll call it. I love you. Very, very simple, very truly. You are the-the epitome of everything I have ever looked for in another human being. And I know that you think of me as just a friend, and crossing that line is-is-is the furthest thing from an option you would ever consider. But I had to say it. I just, I can’t take this anymore. I can’t stand next to you without wanting to hold you. I can’t-I can’t look into your eyes without feeling that-that longing you only read about in trashy romance novels. I can’t talk to you without wanting to express my love for everything you are. And I know this will probably queer our friendship – but I had to say it, ’cause I’ve never felt this way before, and I-I don’t care. I like who I am because of it. And if bringing this to light means we can’t hang out anymore, then that hurts me. But God, I just, I couldn’t allow another day to go by without just getting it out there, regardless of the outcome, which by the look on your face is to be the inevitable shoot-down. And, you know, I’ll accept that. But I know, I know that some part of you is hesitating for a moment, and if there’s a moment of hesitation, then that means you feel something too. And all I ask, please, is that you just – you just not dismiss that, and try to dwell in it for just ten seconds. There isn’t another soul on this fucking planet who has ever made me half the person I am when I’m with you, and I would risk this friendship for the chance to take it to the next plateau. Because it is there between you and me. You can’t deny that. Even if, you know, even if we never talk again after tonight, please know that I am forever changed because of who you are and what you’ve meant to me.

I know it’s a daunting by the size of it (TWSS!) but everything Holden said, seems to be a great combination of spontaneity and thoughtful planning. It seems to be perfectly written and the scene is filmed very well done. There is no background music and it is simple and raw and you are forced to focus on what is being said. Often times I have been tempted to just come clean to a crush about how I feel for them, but nine times out of ten,  have held back, not wanting to make things awkward. I think if I were however, to tell a crush of mine how I felt, this somewhat cliché speech would be what I would say.

Actions

Information

One response

26 11 2013
Julie

i wish someone would find and post the words to the letter holden wrote, more like a poem. Something about a sea serpent alone at night screaming that nobody could hear… something like that. It was so beautiful. I used to have it, I typed it out by pausing the movie 100 times as I went along. Its that beautiful. That gorgeously well written. If you’re a guy, you gotta use some of the lines outta this movie but don’t be lame and pretend they’re your own. If you relate, use them. We girls love when words are used like art. Carefully, creatively, originally and mindfully.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

