Salad Bar Frustration

14 10 2009

F/D. 14   10/14/09

Behold, the beautiful salad bar!

salad-bar

The buffet-styled salad feeding-frenzy is always stocked with never-ending wonders and so many satisfying toppings, add-ons, and fixings. A seemingly infinite number of glorious combinations. You can let your mind wander at the salad bar. Even with the most structured plan going in, you are frequently tempted by the many distractions of goodies. And don’t be mistaken; a salad bar is not always for health nuts. Fixin’s such as pasta salad, egg, croutons, candied nuts, cheese, and the plethora of salad dressings, are not always the healthiest choices.

saladBar

As you might be able to tell, I am quite the fan of salad bars. I went to the salad bar at my local Giant grocery store for dinner last night. Upon arrival at the shiny clean rows of fixins, I was first greeted with the choice of what size container to fill. There was small and large, but nothing in between. Since I was hungry (I always go grocery shopping when hungry, which may not be very smart), I opted for the large. And, boy was it ever. As any salad bar veteran knows, salad bars are stocked with a ton of amazing things. But it isn’t called a “salad bar” for nothing, and thus I had to start off with a bed of various salad greens. I went down the bar, helping myself to any and every delicious container of fixin’s. Without a plan going in of what I wanted (and for the fact that this was my maiden voyage to this particular salad bar) I ended up taking most of what was there to be offered upon me.

9bfa6220b01ca2df_saladbarfixings.preview

The problem however with salad bars, is that unless you have done a once-over walk-through of the line, you don’t know what you will come upon and in what order you will see the many fixin’s. We all know that the dressings will be located at the end and the lettuce and greens will be in the beginning, but after that, there is no particular order to what goes in between. My problem is that I tend to fill up on the fixin’s at the beginning (because I don’t know what lies ahead), but then I always find the better toppings towards the end, when my platter is pretty much filled.

Not like this is a terrible conundrum, since I’m still taking what I like, it just means that my salad tends to be almost twice the size of what I was ideally thinking. I also may be at fault for originally taking the larger container to fill, because if I had started off with the small size, I would imagine I would be taking smaller portions of each fixin’, allowing for more room and a more even distribution of each selection. But then again, I think the moral here is that unless you are a salad bar  master, it is important to remember that it takes a few trips to the salad bar, until you have figured out how to create the perfect salad to your liking.

saladbar1

And with that being said, I say enjoy the creative salad-making process and bon appetite!

Actions

Information

3 responses

14 10 2009
Patrick

I too enjoy making “awesome” salads at the salad bar. However I probably am not making salads that are too good for me:

Eggs? Sure
Bacon? Yes please!

15 10 2009
dazey2

That’s just like my brother.

30 11 2009
Edgar

I would like to know if I can borrow a picture from your website for a presentation that I am working on. Please contact me at my email at your earliest convenience, thank you for your time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

